The Natural Language Processing Lab

View the Project on GitHub dcavar/

Welcome to The NLP Lab Pages

The Natural Language Processing Lab (NLP-Lab) is focused on theoretical work and implementations of Natural Language Processing (NLP) and Artificial Intelligence (AI) solutions using hybrid approaches, empiricist, neural, probabilistic, and knowledge-driven, with a particular interest in neuro-symbolic modeling. We are also strongly interested in Quantum NLP and NLP combined with Machine Learning (ML) solutions for computer vision and multi-modal information processing.

The NLP-Lab is located at Indiana University at Bloomington. While it is mainly a local group of students and researchers with a strong interest in NLP and AI here in Indiana, it has ties to colleagues all across the country.

For the rest of 2023 we meet in person every week in Luddy Hall 0002, every Thursday 5:30-7 PM. (See Teams and email announcements for more details.)

Please contact Damir Cavar, if you are interested in joining the NLP-Lab meetings. The meetings are in person and only exceptionally Teams-based online participants can join.

Research Foci

During the 2023/2024 academic year the focus is on:

In all these projects we work on hands-on implementation of technologies, utilizing programming languages like Python and Rust, and graph or RDF libraries, as well as common graph-database systems like Apache Jena, Fluree, oxigraph, AllegroGraph, GraphDB, or Neo4j.

See for example:

If you are interested in joining our Rust tutorials with a focus on using Rust for NLP and AI or in Robotics environments (with the [Robot Operating System] (ROS)), please get in touch!

Previous projects foci:


Former Team Members

Here is our Event Calendar with all meeting times.